Eleven, Eleven, Eleven


I am completely luck impaired. If I had luck as a stat like in role-playing games, it was be a -3. I swear.

But today, on the luckiest day of this millennium, I thought that I would acknowledge all of the luckiest things that have ever happened to me.

  • From what I understand, some people search their whole lives for that one special person. I met him in my teens. I became romantically involved with him, and nine months later we were married.
  • I am blessed with a wonderful son. Many women have fertility issues. Even if this surgery results in infertility, I still have T.D.
  • I was lucky enough to have a mostly uncomplicated pregnancy with T.D. and a complication free labor. He was born healthy and beautiful.
  • Through pure chance, I fell into the job of my dreams. This was the spark that started my passion for education and love of children. Some people search forever for the job they love, and I received mine by chance.
  • I am naturally gifted in many areas. I was afforded so many different chances to hone my abilities.
  • I am lucky enough to have a permanent home.
  • By chance, I have found a mental health community. Here, I find warmth, comfort, guidance, and camaraderie.
  • C.S. was lucky enough to walk away from a potentially fatal accident. I am lucky to have him alive.
  • Through absolutely random chance, I met a stranger on the bus who helped me save the big spring musical. It saved my job, gave me work over the summer, and promoted me to Music Director.
  • Once, I found $123 on a sidewalk with no one in sight.
  • And best of all, I am the luckiest gal on the planet to be surrounded with people who love me for who I am. This one goes out to you.
  • Maybe I’m not so unlucky after all. Happy 11/11/11!

7 thoughts on “Eleven, Eleven, Eleven

  1. I love this post, & by chance have just written a ‘things to be thankful for’ post myself… it’s lovely to be able to occasionally sit & reflect upon the GOOD things in life, when depression can so often make them hide in a fog. Thank you xx

    • I’ve been standing on the cusp of depression for a little bit now. I wouldn’t call it dysthymic just yet. It’s at a fluctuating 4-5 on the mood scale. I’m hyper-reactive right now and unfortunate events bring me down.

      But, I wanted to move my focus on all of the lucky things that have happened to me. I’m lucky in love and family, even if I’m not lucky in health and wealth, LOL. But love, family, and my passions are the most important in my life.

      If I could have a beautiful, loving, and productive life but it were short, I’d choose it over the long empty life any day.

  2. There’s a lot of great stuff in that list, Luna.
    Live BIG in the lucky stuff and let it keep on giving you a reason to keep on battling the stuff that you wouldn’t wish on anyone.
    Hang in there through these tense days while you are waiting.
    Counting down days til major surgery is a bit like counting petrol stations as you cross drive down the West coast of Australia and across the Nullarbor Plain (hint: you don’t drive past one because you won’t find another with fuel in your tank).

    • I’ve always despised the phrase, “It could be worse!”. I swear, the powers that be overhear this and say, “Yeah, you know, it could!. Then, before you know it, there are plagues and pestilences, and then I’m forced to sound like Eeyore. LOL.

      The good news about all of the troublesome situations occurring right is now is that they all have a good resolution. Hopefully. *crosses fingers*

  3. Pingback: THIS is exactly why the internet is my lifeline-mental health support « Morgue Than Words…

Any thoughts to contibute?

