Blog for Mental Health 2012


Blog for Mental Health 2012 Project
Clearly, I am a mental health blogger. I have been dedicated to sharing my experiences with bipolar disorder for nearly seven months now. That is my primary focus, though I have a tendency to get a little off topic from time to time.  Not only is this therapeutic for me, but I hope that is can be an inspiration for others who suffer with mental health issues.  This is especially the ones who do so in silence.  Every voice is important, as it collects and makes our community’s voice stronger.

This is the premise for Pendulum, as written in the About This Blog page:

Many people suffering from Bipolar Disorder do so in silence. Prior to this blog, I could have included myself. This blog is meant for others to experience living with this disorder the way I, and many others, do. It is also for others to find their voice here and to know that they are not alone in their struggle. Lastly, it is to encourage dialogue and community between bipolar bloggers.

Sometimes it’s interesting. Sometimes it’s sad and at other times it sounds crazy. Grab the pendulum, and hold on for dear life. Otherwise, you just might end up in the pit.

This morning, I found myself interested in an official blogging project to raise awareness for mental health education. I sifted through Google for awhile, unable to find anything like it. And I thought, “Why don’t I start one?” It would be easy! All I would need to do is produce a graphic and some instructions.

The badge above is featured on Pendulum’s homepage, because I am dedicated to continue blogging throughout 2012 for mental health. So, here are the rules.

1.) Take the pledge by copy and pasting the following into a post featuring “Blog for Mental Health 2012”.

I pledge my commitment to the Blog for Mental Health 2012 Project. I will blog about mental health topics not only for myself, but for others. By displaying this badge, I show my pride, dedication, and acceptance for mental health. I use this to promote mental health education in the struggle to erase stigma.

2.) Link back to the person who pledged you.

3.) Write a short biography of your mental health, and what this means to you.

I have been symptomatic of Bipolar Disorder and Anxiety for most of my life. I was incorrectly diagnosed with MDD in my teens, and suffered in silence. After my son was born in 2008, I went on to experience a severe relapse in symptoms considered to be postpartum psychosis. Several months later, I sought treatment and was diagnosed with Bipolar Disorder II.

That was almost three years ago now. Today, I am experiencing the longest stable state I’ve ever had, going on three months now. I am still hesitant to say that I am in remission.

This pledge is my opportunity to commit to mental health awareness. I can publicly display this badge to instantly tell my audience what this is all about. And, I can encourage others within the mental health community that have a Dx to do the same.

4.) Pledge five others.

I am pledging give of my fellow bloggers who have stood with me, and have proven their medal in my eyes as mental health bloggers.

  1. Ruby – I Was Just Thinking…
  2. FracturedAngel – The Mirth of Despair
  3. Monday – Manic Monday
  4. Vivien – Manic Muses
  5. Sarah – bi[polar] Curious

If you happen upon this without being pledged, I still pledge you. Feel free to take the pledge! Promote awareness!

90 thoughts on “Blog for Mental Health 2012

  1. I’ve slowed down a bit. A slow: 12, 11, 10, 9, 6. I think most ‘normal’ people live on a 7 or 8 But I’ve been reacting to an embarrassment for a few days and, surprisingly, it feels pretty good to have survived it. But I hurt a friend. Who knows what tomorrow will bring, eh?

    I’ll take you up on your pledge. But slowly! I was trying to post several times a day, but that’s madness, isn’t it!?

    So I’ll get my badge up and running soon.

    Even a bipolar person has to make choices and if I’m not I’ll be making choices. So please don’t be offended. I’m still here. I’m just being Vewwy, vewwy, quiet!

    [audio src="http://www.elmerfudd.us/elmer02.wav" /]

    TD

    • It’s interesting how people with bipolar are unique in their natural states. Without medication, I usually am working on a 2 or 3. It’s a really, really tortured place. With medication, I go between 5 and 8. That’s not even day to day. That’s moment to moment!

      I am sorry you have hurt a friend. A good friend will give you the opportunity to make things right.

      Two posts a day? Here’s how I do it. Usually, I have two ideas full steam, and I go with it. I write them all in one bundle and then schedule the second one for later in the day. That way, I’m freed up for later in the day to get a head start on tomorrow’s post. Or, I goof off. Usually the latter.

  2. Pingback: Blog for Mental Health | The Mirth of Despair

  3. Found out about this from a general search for Mental Health which led my to ‘Voices of Glass’ blog.
    I am a writer who is BI-polar (and a few others) and just started my blog the beginning of last week. I hope to cover both my life as a writer and as one who lives with Mental Health issues in my blog so this will go nicely with that concept.
    I think it is a terrific concept and congratulations to you for standing up and starting to wave the flag.
    It the spirit of awareness I have to let you know about a book that is written by those suffering from Mental Health issues, about surviving life. It just came out (I am one of the contributors but make no profit at all from the book – it was a labour of love) I am holding a contest for the chance to win a copy of the book over on my blog

    The link for the book itself is on my sight if you would like to link to it – as don’t want to ‘spam’ you. Or if you want, just let me know and I’ll add a reply on her with the link

    It is already the #2 bestsellar on Amazon in the field of Mental Health!

    • I’d love to check it out! But I didn’t get a link for your site. Can you link it?

      Thanks for supporting this! I really wanted people who blog about mental health to display it, and pass it on. If we don’t start waving the flag, then who will?

        • Here is a link to the book’s Amazon page as well. I’d appreciate a little help getting my contest going but the important thing is getting the message out there.
          The publisher is giving some of the proceeds to a non-profit organisation that helps those with mental health issues.
          But even if someone wants to just buy the book and not wait to see if they win – they can still enter the contest and either re-raffle it on their blog, should they win, or give it away to friend or family member -It’s win – win all around
          And again – I get no profit from sales – it was a work of love (and I feel responsibility)

          Mental Wellness:Real Stories from Survivors

  4. Pingback: Blog for Mental Health 2012 | Through my eyes: Adventures in Borderline land

  5. This is such a wonderful idea. One of the bloggers I follow wrote about this and suggested I pledge. I had to have a good think about it because at the time I couldn’t work out what positive impact I could have on the initiative, but it really opened my eyes to a few things, for which I am immensely grateful to you.

    I’m really impressed by how receptive everyone has been to your idea too.

    • I know a lot of writers who explore mental health subjects would like more than anything to get the word out there. In a way, the badge on the site is a commitment to the advocacy for mental health awareness through our own blogging experience. I want my words to count for something, other than entertainment value for someone who cannot comprehend mental health diagnoses. And that’s all it’s been my whole life is a complete mockery. No more. I laugh; I cry. I get out of control. I’m human, that’s all. But with the added bipolar twist.

      In addition, I think it brings the mental health community closer together. It’s easy to be spread across WordPress and other sites, sometimes without ever passing each other. This badge is an identifier in a way. It says, “I am receptive to dialog with you.” It’s about pride and confidence in what we are writing for a greater cause.

      Thanks so much for your interest!

  6. Pingback: Blog for Mental Health 2012 – A Hit! « As the Pendulum Swings

  7. I am a bipolar alcoholic in recovery and would LOVE to participate! Too many people suffer in silence because of pride or fear of embarrassment. Thank you for your contribution!

    Elizabeth

    • Hello Elizabeth!

      I am elated by your enthusiasm! You are right. I think about the people who are too scared to speak up. Who don’t know that there are a wealth of people just like themselves who want to guide and support them. I remember when I was alone with this. And I remember thinking I was the only one that could ever really know what it was like.

      It doesn’t have to be like that at all. Everyone should know that there is a little nook in this world, just for them.

  8. Pingback: Blog for Mental Health 2012 | Snippets and Glimpses

  9. Pingback: I Ain’t Afraid of No SOPA « As the Pendulum Swings

  10. Pingback: Blog for Mental Health 2012 « onbeingmindful

  11. Hi…thanks for starting the Mental Health Awareness 2011 pledge! I put it on my blog too. The more people know, the less stigma there is. The more people WE know, the less we feel alone.

    I’m having trouble getting the logo on my page-it says click it and stick it but it’s not working!

    • Clicking brings you here. So, you can grab the graphic by right clicking and clicking “save image”.

      Type up a post with your own pledge (if you haven’t already) and click the first little icon above the textbox. That will ask you to upload the graphic into your post from your hard drive. Finish and view your post. Click on the graphic. It should open in a window by itself. Copy the url in your address bar.

      When you go to your own page, go to appearence and then widgets. Scroll down and find the box that says, “Image”. Left click and drag it up to one of your sidebars. It should open, but if it doesn’t, click the little arrow next to the word “image”. It will have a text box labeled image url. Right click and click paste. And poof! It’s on your page!

      If you have any more questions, don’t hesitate to ask!

  12. Count me in!

    Gona let my current post settle in and then it’s up with the badge…most likely tomorrow night…or is it tonight… Erm…between the insomnia and the time differences between countries, I am not quite sure if I should be asleep or napping. There should be something like “Internet Lagg”…no, not ping-timeouts…more like “Jett lagg” but for the internet.

    Wait…I’m rambling aren’t I…damned lithium has given up the fight * mopes *

  13. Pingback: Blog for Mental Health 2012 Project « Terminally Inconsistent

  14. Pingback: granolaasylum

  15. I would like to be part of this too… I was recently thinking of the unique position of having a platform like this to be more vocal – well literary i suppose – I make a point of mentioning my illness and even to laugh a little at it but by the people I have heard from already I have been able to be heard – I’ll take the pledge and post this badge on my blog – if you find my comments in spam – it seems to be my fate of late, I am not sure what I did but I assure you I am not spam and I am legit and I even wrote a post about it……
    🙂 Peace

    • I apologize for such a late response. My spam filter ate it, and I don’t know why. I have to go in there and change the settings.

      Anyway, I am happy to pledge you and have you be apart of this!

  16. Pingback: Long Overdue | I Was Just Thinking. . .

  17. Pingback: Blog for Mental Health 2012 | Weathering The Storm: Overcoming Bipolar Disorder

  18. Reblogged this on A Canvas Of The Minds and commented:
    This is from the wonderful mind of Lulu (our very own LunaSunshine, and we are so proud). If you haven’t yet read about it, consider seriously taking the pledge and encouraging others by pledging them. It’s meant for all of us, not just the bipolar bloggers!

  19. As we say in Hebrew, Kol ha’kavod! Which means, all honor to you! What a great project, and much needed! I would love to do all of the things you mention above, but I am technologically challenged. I don’t know how to do them. I wish I did! Maybe someday I will! At this point in my life, all I know how to do is write. But you have my enthusiastic support, and I am very proud of you for taking up the banner!

  20. Pingback: Blog for Mental Health 2012 « My Bipolar Life

  21. Pingback: 100th Post; A Blog Origin Story « bi[polar] curious

  22. Hi,

    I just started a blog called “Quit the Cure: The Journey to Quit Antidepressants.” I wanted to share my depression story, what I’ve learned through it, and what I will go through as I quit antidepressants.

    Through Twitter and a site called Surviving Antidepressants, I’m finding out how wonderful it is to connect to other people who have gone through or are continuing to go through depression and/or well as antidepressant withdrawal too. It makes such a difference when you can find this type of community online. I’m finding myself inspired, and I really want to be apart of the solution by give information (and hopefully inspiration) to others like myself.

    I think that the blogging for mental health project is a phenomenal idea! I’m…just having a hard time understanding how to participate! How do I:

    2.) Link back to the person who pledged you. (Who can I get to pledge me?)

    and

    4.) Pledge five others. (Who do I pledge and how?)

    Thanks,

    Lisa

  23. Ok, so I am a bit slow. LOL, forgive me. I am going to get on this right now… I think about it all the time and then forget. I was just going to ask what it is I need to do and then I saw the directions at the top. LOL.
    I am sorry it has taken me so very long. 😦

  24. You’re so awesome! I do not think I have read something like that before. So wonderful to discover another person with original thoughts on this subject. Seriously.. many thanks for starting this up. This web site is one thing that is required on the web, someone with some originality!

    • Yes, you can pledge yourself. Or, you could tell people I pledged you. Because, I’ll tell you that I’m pledging you right now, if that makes the process easier. LOL. You don’t have to count yourself as one of the five, but if you want to, you can.

      There really are no hard and fast rules about it. I’ve had new bloggers come to me and say, “I’m brand new, I don’t have anyone to pledge.” Then pledge yourself! Pledge no one. Pledge me! Whatever feels right. Go with it.

  25. Pingback: And the Liebster Award Goes To… « Quit the Cure

  26. Pingback: Pulling on the Reins « As the Pendulum Swings

  27. this project is so awesme! i know i’m a bit late into the game but i’d certainly love to participate. you are incredible for organizing something like this!

  28. Pingback: blog for mental health 2012 | Palate for Life

  29. Reblogged this on blackk9 and commented:
    Accepting the diagnosis of bipolar has been a long and hard journey for me from undiagnosed hell, to diagnosed denial, mixed mode crisis and eventually acceptance and a move toward healing. During this time I have met some super inspiring people with a range of mental illnesses. My hope is that even in a little way I may be an inspiration to others, and draw inspiration from my fellow bloggers.

  30. My husband and i ended up being now contented when Michael could deal with his investigations because of the precious recommendations he gained from your web site. It is now and again perplexing to just choose to be making a gift of guidelines which often some others might have been selling. And we also figure out we’ve got you to appreciate because of that. All the explanations you made, the straightforward web site menu, the relationships your site make it easier to create – it’s most incredible, and it’s facilitating our son and the family believe that the subject matter is excellent, and that is truly pressing. Thank you for everything!

  31. Pingback: Blog for Mental Health 2012 « Pride in Madness

  32. Pingback: Blog for Mental Health 2012 : Official Blogroll Summons | Sunny With a Chance Of Armageddon

  33. Pingback: I pledge my commitment to the Blog for Mental Health 2012. | slightly manic mummy

  34. Hi there!

    I really hope you dont mind but I’ve pledged to this? I think its an amazing thing to do and Ill be putting up a life story soon. Also, I really dont mind being on the blogroll. I hope you are feeling strong and stable, take care Karen x

  35. Can I just say what a relief to find someone that genuinely knows what they’re discussing on the web. You actually realize how to bring an issue to light and make it important. More and more people ought to look at this and understand this side of the story. I was surprised you aren’t more popular given that you surely have the gift.

    • I appreciate your enthusiasm so much. I consider myself to be a mental health blogger. Maybe not an author, but we’ll see as time goes on. Even if a person isn’t exclusively a mental health blogger, it’s nice to have that badge out there that says, “Hey, I support this.” It’s not as popular or trendy as ribbons for cancer, but I think it’s more meaningful in a way. And no, that’s not a diss at cancer, because I’ve gone rounds with cancer myself.

      It’s not wildly popular, but if you were to Google “Blog for Mental Health 2012”, you’d find that there are a number of authors. I know I don’t have the right exposure, and that’s fine, because I don’t know if I have anymore time to put into a blog. By the way, I’m blogging at Sunny with a Chance of Armageddon now. So, instead of taking on the mental health blogging challenge alone, that’s why A Canvas of the Minds exists! It’s a community mental health blogging site.

  36. Excellent blog! Do you have any suggestions for aspiring writers?
    I’m hoping to start my own website soon but I’m a little lost on everything.
    Would you recommend starting with a free platform like WordPress
    or go for a paid option? There are so many options out there that I’m totally confused .. Any suggestions? Thanks a lot!

  37. Research indicates that half of all lifetime cases of mental illness begin by age 14, well before adulthood. Three new studies investigate the cognitive, genetic and environmental factors that may contribute to mental health disorders in adolescence. The studies are published in Psychological Science and Clinical Psychological Science, journals of the Association for Psychological Science. *

    Look out for our very own web blog as well
    <.http://www.foodsupplementdigest.com/can-you-overdose-on-vitamin-c/

  38. Pingback: Blog for Mental Health 2012 - Weathering the Storm: Overcoming Bipolar Disorder

Any thoughts to contibute?

