As The Pendulum Swings


I’ve been thinking a lot lately about my blog and the psychology of color.  We are all aware that colors around us alter our perceptions about the place, people, and situations we encounter.  I live in Pittsburgh, and I experience The Grey Season throughout months primarily between November and March.  Part of this is also known as Winter.  In The Grey Season, my perceptions are altered.  Everything is just more, well, blah, for lack of a better word.  It’s depressive but not necessarily depression.

Here’s a run-down of the psychology of color.

  • Black: considered to a serious color.  Usually is representative of any subject that is exclusively serious.  It usually revolves around death.  Invokes feelings of seriousness, gloomy, and despair.
  • White: considered to be a color of purity, cleanliness, and impartiality.  It can be thought of as a clean slate and new beginnings.  White bears no judgement.
  • Grey: thought to be a color that represents mediocrity.  It is not a moving color.  It is absolutely uninspiring.
  • Red: is considered to be a color that represents aggression and anger.  Think of the bullfighters holding the red drape.  The bull naturally feels aggression when seeing the color red.
  • Orange: is a vibrant color and typically represents change.  Orange is a color that is found most in the fall.  It is the color of pumpkins in the harvest, and leaves falling from trees.
  • Yellow: thought of as a joyful color.  Yellow is the color of the sun, and the light that it brings into this world.  The sun brings warmth, and is necessary for plants to grow.  It is considered a high energy color full of happiness.
  • Green: is thought of as an intelligent color.  Green is the color of money, but also the color of plants.  It is often representative of fertility and luck.
  • Blue: considered a color of serenity.  Blue occurs naturally in the world as the largest entities.  The sky is blue.  The oceans are blue.  Many people don’t realize that the water represents the fluidity of our emotions.  Blue water is calm water.  It is healing for the mind in nature.
  • Purple: is a regal color.  The robes of kings and queens were made from precious and rare indigo dye.  It represents wisdom, respect, and stimulates the brain for problem solving.
  • Brown: thought of as a stable color.  It is the color of the very earth we walk on.  It is reliable and constant.

As you may have noticed, my banner changed.  The banner was a hand-crafted graphic of hand selected clocks.  Each clock represents a frame of mind.  And every clock represents the seconds that are passing in our lives, during this very moment.

As the Pendulum Swings is a term that represents a number of ideas and concepts.  First and foremost, it represents the swinging of a pendulum in relation to the nature of bipolar disorder.  For every swing in one direction, I experience a swing in the opposite direction.  Whether they are long swings, or short swings, the pendulum will never stop until I am dead.

As the Pendulum Swings is also a play off of Edgar Allan Poe’s “The Pit and the Pendulum”.  If you are interested, the link will take you to the entire text for your reading pleasure.  Poe’s writings have always resonated with me, even as a young teen.  There was something in there that seemed to describe my very nature.  I felt the title of my blog was an appropriate reference to this work.

And finally, As the Pendulum Swings represents the swinging of the pendulum as it ticks our lives away.  Each swing is a second we have either gained for ourselves, or forever lost in the folds of the fabric of time.  It is a constant reminder that we should be constantly aware of our precious mortality.  Our physical lives are actually not exclusively owned. Rather, they are on lease, and we cannot be sure when that lease will expire.  We may lose our mortal flesh, but our souls are ours to keep.

What will you gain today from your mortal seconds to assimilate into your undying soul?

7 thoughts on “As The Pendulum Swings

  1. Love the new web design…. tempted to steal it for myself. I really like the clocks banner too. So congratulations already! As for my mortal seconds, I’ve discovered that lithium seconds are different from normal seconds: they go by with excruciating slowness.

  2. Interesting information. I wonder what our favorite colors say about our personalities. And the colors we don’t like . . . for instance, I dislike yellow. Does that mean I hate happiness? Gosh, I hope not.

    Also, I like the symbolism behind the clocks.

    • I dislike yellow too. But, I think that’s more of a fashion choice than anything else. Yellow is a pretty intense color, because it’s so energetic. I imagine that might be a reason it’s not preferable.

      I dislike brown for a room, but I enjoy it to wear. Does that mean I don’t enjoy stability in my home life? Bah, no! I just grew up with wood paneling everywhere, and I’m sick of it. Along with every single bathroom being sea foam green. Enough already!

      I am not thrilled with orange, red, light blue, yellow / gold, silver (not including jewelry) / light grey. They are not flattering on me. Neutral and some cool tones work best for me. My skin is a cool color and my hair is a neutral tone. So most warm colors are out. Does that mean I’m not energetic? No! (Mostly!).

      Personally, my favorite color is blue. Blue can be any shade between green blue and purple blue. It is so versatile. It works for me for everything, in almost every shade, exceptions being light and navy blue. One washes me out and the other doesn’t fit work with my wardrobe.

  3. Pingback: As the Pendulum Swings « Bipolar Inspirations

  4. I just like black because it slimming, easy to coordinate, and I spill too many things to not wear a stain resistant color. 🙂

Any thoughts to contibute?

