Judge William Adams


Warning: The following footage may be disturbing in nature.  Viewer discretion is advised.

This was so disturbing to me that I started shaking and crying.  The abuse, both physical, verbal, and emotional, was so graphic that I couldn’t get it out of my head.  I know what it feels like to have a parent hit me and tell me that I’m bad.  But, I’ve never been brutilized to that extreme in that fashion.

I could only imagine it.  The horror, the pain.  Both parents were ganging up on her, hitting her with full force in the front and back of her legs, thighs, and buttocks with this belt.  I know there were excrutiating welts.  He probably hit her so much and so hard that she bled.  There was nowhere to run to, and nowhere to hide.  And seemingly, no one to confide in, since this video was taken in 2004 and has only recently emerged at the end of 2011.

In the video, the father is standing over his daughter screaming about how she used to be a nice little girl and now she’s disobedient, lying, and stealing.  He screamed about how she would be grounded for six months.  And even worse, they wouldn’t even let her sleep in her own bed.  The bedroom is a child’s sanctuary.  He violated her in more ways than one.  All of that struck a nerve with me.

I grew up feeling unloved because of abusive situations.  I have had problems as an adult with self-worth, self-esteem, and self-love.  It helped create a hole inside of me and gave me a faulty foundation to build my life on.  It took a lot of years to undo that damage.  I’m not claiming my parents were vicious and intent on harming me.  I don’t think they even really knew the damage that they were doing until it was too late.

This is not about me.  This is about justice.  Worse, an article on Seattlepi.com announces that the these were regular attacks and the mother claims to have been brainwashed by her husband, William Adams, who she claims had a secret addition.

Bull@#$*!  The most horrifying part of the video was the fact that the mother was in on it.  I’m calling you out, Hallie Adams!  Brainwashed is the lamest excuse I have ever heard for abusing your child.  Shame on you!

I am a mother.  I would put myself between that child and that belt any day of the week.  And likely, I’d find the heaviest thing in that room to crack him over the head with.  If you are any kind of decent mother in the entire world, you would lay your life down for you child.  I have bipolar disorder, and even on my most vicious day, I never hit my child.

Nor would I ever allow anyone to harm my child.  That wasn’t just a spanking.  That was violent, malicious, merciless beating.  In the article, it states that the police are investigating whether there was a crime or not.  EXCUSE ME?!  This is video evidence of severe child abuse!  She was 16-years-old!  They will lock mothers up whose children are above or below a certain percentile in weight calling it “neglect”, but they won’t punish parents who are videotaped brutilizing their child?!

Judge William Adams should be stripped of his authority and at least do a little time.  Then maybe, he’ll know what it felt like when he made his own daughter sleep on a hard sofa in a public room.  And as for Hallie Adams, for shame.  I don’t know whether she should even face punishment.  I think being publically humiliated as the second worst mother in the country, next to Casey Anthony, might be appropriate enough.  At least we don’t actually know if Casey Anthony did it or not.  Hallie Adams is immortalized on Youtube.  (For now, anyway).

There is a special place in Hell for parents who intentionally harm their own children.

8 thoughts on “Judge William Adams

  1. I walked into the living room this morning and this video was playing on the news. I had to jump back out of the room with my hands over my ears screaming, “la la la la la!” to avoid seeing or hearing more. Even the tiny glimpse I got left me extremely unnerved.

    My mother hit me a few times as a child (beyond the usual “spanking”), but it was nothing as brutal as this video. I still harbor a huge amount of anger and resentment toward her. She often scoffed any time she found out I had a nightmare about her attacking me and accused me of having them simply because I “didn’t like” her (and still does to this day). I have an enormous amount of respect for this woman for bringing public attention to something that was so traumatizing to her, and I agree she deserves some form of justice.

    There is no way to really know what was going on in the mind of either her mother or her father, and though I don’t intend to sympathize with either of them in any way I have experienced intense violent urges toward people (even those I care a great deal about) in the past and I know how overwhelming those feelings can be. I don’t know if her mother may have been influenced by these sorts of urges, but even if she had I believe 100% that it doesn’t justify her actions either way.

    Did these people just have overwhelmingly low moral standards or was there something else at work here? Now that the deed it done it doesn’t really matter does it.

    As a note I just want to clarify that in my own life, I consider violent urges of any kind to be a one way ticket to the hospital to seek immediate medical attention. I just wish others acted similarly.

    • Mine went a little beyond “spanking”, but not to that level. And my parents responded in the same way when I tried to speak out about them “roughing me up” and “emotionally abusing me”. They would smile sweetly and tell the police, teachers, and principals that I was overdramatic and overly-sensitive. That I’d take constructive criticism and warp it around. It was BS. That’s what they call “grey abuse”.

      The why’s and wherefore’s don’t matter. Especially for that mother. Like I said, I am a mother. There is an inborn mechanism in me that is there to protect T.D. If i feel like I’m approaching dangerous anger, I put T.D in his room so we can both have a time-out. I know I’d never hurt him, but I don’t want to take any chances. When the deed has been done, it’s too late.

      Let it be said that I have never put a hand on anyone without physical provocation. That was one ex-boyfriend from long ago when I wasn’t being treated for bipolar or the raging alcoholism. And no, I’m not proud of it. But, the difference is that I was fighting a six-foot-tall, 195lb man, not my own child.

  2. I wish that it would be as easy to take that scene out of that child’s memory the way it can be extracted from youtube.
    I cannot fathom how people can be jailed for some of the offenses that go punished (not that there is no need of it) and yet THIS atrocity is not seen as crime.
    Who threw out the scales of justice?

    • I’m not even sure that the technique used in “Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind” could work for this poor girl. Theoretically, of course.

      I can’t understand why all around the country, they are pepper-spraying protesters and throwing them in the slammer, but this guy walks free. The scales of justice were tipped by him, obviously. He’s a judge. Who would question the moral ethics of a judge? (Extreme sarcasm).

  3. I couldn’t watch the video, I didn’t even try, but your description was more than enough. Things like this have an odd paradoxical effect on me, which I guess is to be expected. I am horrified and feel pain for the child in question (and especially for you, your parents may never have beaten you severely, but you have disclosed enough here to give me some idea of how difficult growing up with them was sometimes), and I am endlessly grateful for my own parents.

    My mother spanked me once in all of my childhood, and she tells me that afterwards she sobbed and sobbed and could never do it again. My father never so much as raised a hand to me.

    My heart breaks for you, for this girl, and for every other child of abusive parents – physical, emotional, psychological, sexual. Abuse of a child is forever damaging, but abuse by the people who are supposed to be the ones who have sworn to protect you from birth. . .

    What is a child supposed to do? Where do they turn, when they cannot turn to Mom and Dad?

    You are now a strong, grown, confident woman, and you are a wonderful mother to T.D. and haven’t perpetuated the cycle like so many children of abuse do. But as you said, “I have had problems as an adult with self-worth, self-esteem, and self-love. It helped create a hole inside of me and gave me a faulty foundation to build my life on. It took a lot of years to undo that damage.” I wonder if to a small extent that damage will never be completely undone. And it hurts for me to think of you ever having to deal with that.

    • My heart breaks for children and adults alike when I hear of abuse. A child’s whole world starts in the home, from the time they are brought home from the hospital. When abuse is occurring, trust is lost, relationships are broken, and the family system begins to disintegrate. Maybe some old school parents neglect to realize that a parent is not a only a disciplinarian. A parent is a child’s guide for life.

      “Mother is the word for God on the Lips and Hearts of all children.” – The Crow

      I made a mindful choice to put a stop to the cycle. In fact, I made a mindful choice to put a stop to a lot of things that have been perpetuated through generations in my family. I won’t pass abusive to T.D. I won’t pass fear of the world to him. I won’t pass aggression either. I put my foot down years before T.D. was even imagined.

      I don’t know if it can ever be totally undone either. I would like to believe that I have forgiven all loved ones that have harmed me. Now that I’m older, I know my parents didn’t act in malice. I know the reasons. Some of them are total BS and some are kind of legitimate. But, throughout my adulthood, they have made the admission and have attempted to make ammends. At least they recognized it. That’s all I ever wanted them to do. Because I’m not even sure if there was anything they could say or do beyond admission that would even come close to reparations.

  4. Pingback: The Real Demons « As the Pendulum Swings

Any thoughts to contibute?

