Buried Treasure


Thank you, Tori. Thank you, Trent. It’s still a bit hazy. But it is all trickling back into my memory now.

I listened to a lot of Tori Amos and Nine Inch Nails in my teens. Really, I actually went out on a bus to the music store in the square or center and purchased the CDs. (That might put some of you with Mr. Peabody on the Wayback Machine). Since my bout with pneumonia that came fully equipped with laryngitis, I’ve had problems with my singing voice. I wondered how I trained my voice before I had a teacher. And it took me back to Tori and Trent.

Anima and Animus, feminine and masculine sides of my personality and thus, my art. They weren’t role models in the familiar sense that I looked up to them. Something inside me resonated with these two figures through their music.
I sang Caught a Lite Sneeze in the shower. I know, so cliche, right? I guess I hadn’t put any thought into what the song meant in many years. Seeing it now, through adult eyes, made it mean something different.

She’s describing the push and pull of a relationship and the particulars about the man. Why did it have to be so complicated? I wanted to hear it again, so I started to listen a “Sessions” version on Youtube. And then, I knew who it was about. In the end, it was about two people who were meant to be that never were.

The hazy memories of who I started my life as came into focus. Other than shedding some naïve notions and gaining some cynicism, I have finally come full circle. I am that girl in the woods. The only difference is those woods became my home.

I was a dark blonde, long haired, chubby, short girl with big, dark framed glasses. You could always find me with a pen or an instrument in my hand, a song in my heart, and an ache in my soul. Mostly, I looked brooding or electric. I was quite a character.

“At work, I really let my freak flag fly,” I said proudly to C.S.

Today, I am a bleach-blonde, moderately weighted, short woman with Buddy Holly glasses. You can always find me with a Blackberry or a Pilot G2 pen in hand. There is a strong voice with song that made a nest in my heart for loved ones. My soul sparks and stirs, with both warmth and burns from the fire within.

Why did I have to lose myself, to throw myself away entirely, in order to really find myself?

2 thoughts on “Buried Treasure

  1. “Why did I have to lose myself, to throw myself away entirely, in order to really find myself?”

    That reminds me of the classic Nietzsche quote “What doesn’t kill you makes you stronger”. Maybe it’s just the depressing part of life that intense struggle is necessary to finding oneself. It’s rather cliche and lifetime-movie philosophy, but maybe it’s right in the old Nietzschean sense, that overcoming is what defines us, not where we are.

    • True, what doesn’t kill us does make us stronger. I think anyway. I wouldn’t have minded the stuggle so much if it hadn’t brought me full circle. Then, it just seems so useless.

      But if we put it in the context of trying on clothes, it would go more like this. Different attire is appopriate in different situations. Therefore, different personas may have been appropriate for different periods in my life. What fits, what looks good, what is in season and what is in style.

      Ruby’s gonna love that analogy.

Any thoughts to contibute?

